Advent Calender–> Day 3, Christmas Ornaments

It’s strange, I don’t remember any generational christmas ornaments growing up. I remember making ornaments as a child, especially those pipe cleaner candy canes that I could hang on the tree. Pipe cleaners shaped like the canes…then those triangle-shaped beads that you group together by twos in alternating colors of red and white…and then those homemade dough ornaments. I remember making a star cutout ornament with that dough and a tree, and then I remember painting the things…but that was when I was 5 years old. But I don’t remember seeing any ornaments from my mother’s childhood.

How Odd. I supposed that also explains why I had to start over again when I became an adult. It never occurred to me to ask my mother for any when I moved out.

I will have to break that tradition and let the girls take one or two (or even more) when they move out….they can start over, but they should start out with family ornaments.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

