Advent Calender–>Day Two, (or it’s all about the Food, Baby)

I decided to participate in the Advent Calender from GeneaBloggers but realized that I had to skip the first day. I am hoping to post each day as a small diversion from my current Genea-project.

We’ll see how it goes.

Growing up, my mother would make tons (I’m almost being literal here) of Chocolate Chip cookies to give as gifts. Somehow I didn’t think that my parents had that many friends to warrant 100+ Dozens of Cookies, each of them baked by my mother, who was juggling cookie sheets and trying valiantly to keep my dad and I from filching a cookie here and there. Who would have thunk that my mother could keep track of that many cookies, to the last damn chip no less. She KNEW when one was missing.

Either that or she was an exceptional guesser.

Regardless, I had the Toll House Chocolate Chip recipe memorized by the time I was seven. Mom actually toned down the cookies by the time I was eight. That’s when she discovered the jet-puffed marshmallow creme and the “heavenly Fudge” recipe on the back of the label.

There was no stopping her after that.

It was kind of like Bubba from the Forrest Gump..”Shrimp cocktail, Shrimp Scampi, Fried Shrimp, Boiled Shrimp, Shrimp soup…” only with my mother it was the Jet-puffed Fudge. Mint, Orange, With nuts, Cherry, Raspberry..She might have been a tiny bit pathological, but the jury is still out on that.

There were also the savory foods for the holidays….Always Turkey, potatoes, Stuffing, Green Bean Casserole, Packets of brown gravy mix. And the Candied Yams.

The Yam’s were a tradition from my greatgrandmother. The one that passed two months prior to my birth. I had to eat them every year both on Thanksgiving and Christmas, to honor said Grandmother. The kitchen counter was set up like a buffet and there was always that 3 quart square casserole dish. Silently judging your worth by the scoop you put on your plate. A dish full of cinnamon laced, light orange glop, piled high with canned whipped cream.

I was an unworthy kid. I hated that dish. The high point of my first Christmas as an adult was that I didn’t have to make Candied yams. My mother has made it a point to bring a dish anytime she comes over for the holidays. I don’t eat it, the kids aren’t fond of it, and Keith can’t stand it. Needless to say the dogs like when my mother comes by on the holidays.

My girls will hopefully add Macaroni Salad to their holiday list as they grow older. They will probably ditch the Green Bean Casserole….we shall see.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Advent Calender–>Day Two, (or it’s all about the Food, Baby)”

  1. Thomas MacEntee Says:

    You post brought back some memories for me – I forgot about the Heavenly Fudge recipe! My family was also a fan of Million Dollar Fudge which I guess was a recipe from Mamie Eisenhower.

    I think you should still post for December 1 – The Christmas Tree even though it is past the date. It is important for you to capture your memories for your kids and grandkids.

    Cheers!

    Thomas MacEntee – GeneaBloggers

Leave a Reply

