..And reviewing products

So the FaceBook group Genea-Bloggers sent me an event invite to blog about the software I use to “Process”(?) my genealogy stuff.

I’m in the middle of the road and use Family Tree Maker 2009. I was using the 2005 version prior to that because it had been that long since I had actively been working on the stuff for the Gene Pool. (Have I mentioned that I am a procrastinator?). I like the program well enough. I like the fact that it interfaces with Ancestry.com flawlessly. The Only real issue I have with the program is that if I lose my internet connection while the program is open, I will not be able to “reconnect” to the internet within the program. I have to close the program and open it up again for it to realize that my connection has come back. Beyond that, I haven’t had any issues with it. I haven’t tried any of the other programs simply because Family Tree Maker has always been sufficient to meet my needs. To be honest, I’d be afraid that my files wouldn’t transfer if I switched, even if I back them up to .ged files.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

